The largest department in the Medical College of Georgia, the Department of Medicine is comprised of 10 divisions, includes more than 100 full-time faculty, in excess of 400 part-time faculty, over 60 internal medicine residents, more than 50 subspecialty and research fellows, and numerous postdoctoral fellows.  Our faculty provide outstanding primary through quaternary care in general internal medicine and nine subspecialties, including cardiology, hospital medicine, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology-oncology, infectious diseases, nephrology, pulmonary, and rheumatology. 

一元微信提现麻将An overriding goal of the department is to provide the highest quality health care and the foundation for lifelong learning and success for trainees and students.  We strive to continue to improve educational methods.  Our senior educators are nationally recognized.  The training programs are innovative and provide a broad range of opportunities and experiences that can be customized to meet the needs of the individual trainees.

The department is also home to a translational research program that provides opportunities for career development through biomedical research with scientists across the university and resources to initiate collaborative projects.

一元微信提现麻将There also are community outreach opportunities for faculty and trainees through participation in local clinical practices and organizations within the region and beyond, and many faculty hold leadership positions at the local, regional and national levels.



students with patients

students with patient

Whitecoats in hallway

Female students

  • Dr. Brian Annex selected as the new Chair of Medicine.
  • Dr. David Walsh selected as the new chief of Hospital Medicine. 
  • Welcome to our new faculty: Dr. Joe Calkins (Cardiology), Dr. Prakash Harikrishnan (Cardiology), Dr. Daniel Sohinki (Cardiology). Dr. Germame Ajebo (Hematology/Oncology), Dr. Joshua Elder (Hospital Medicine), Dr. Chris Ellington (Hospital Medicine), Dr. Titilayo Oluwabusi (Hospital Medicine), Dr. Lane Perry (Hospital Medicine), Dr. Yao Kang (Hospital Medicine), Dr. George Downey (Hospital Medicine), Dr. Cassandre Perard (Hospital Medicine) Dr. Justin Ertle (Internal Medicine), Dr. Sandeep Padala (Nephrology), Dr. Parth Jamindar (Pulmonary), Dr. Sandeepkumar Gupta (Rheumatology) and Dr. Omar Tolaymat (Rheumatology).

Upcoming Events

MEDIcine Grand Rounds - November 19, 2019 at noon

arthur Freedman, md - section chief of interventional radiology

"Interventional Oncology for Internal Medicine"

Contact Us

Department of Medicine
Health Science Campus